On Trend

Kimonos are a Girl’s Best Friend

Yes, you’re seeing this. After a super long hiatus which I’m not proud of, A Girl’s Best Friend is BACK!

And what’s new? EVERYTHING.

I’m in a new Pinterest-worthy apartment (I swoon every time I walk in the door), I’m moving up the college ladder to junior year, and I have a lot to say about fashion! And, if you haven’t noticed, this cute little bloggie got a makeover.

Right now, I want to talk about my most favorite article of clothing lately: the kimono.

I’m honestly not at all sure why they are called kimonos, because they look nothing like:

1415562f1914b123d3de8d46da43967e

 

(And those kids are super adorable).

But whatever you decide to call it, this piece is quickly becoming a staple for your 2014 closet. The kimono, like the romper, is one of those items of clothes I’ll never know fully if I can pull off. Honestly, I’m afraid to buy one, but I’m afraid to NOT buy one.

How to wear:

The most popular way I’ve seen kimonos being worn is with high waisted shorts.

kimono1

 

(photos via Pinterest)

But, that might just be because it’s, you know, hot as balls outside. I have serious faith that this look can be transferred to fall. However, you have to admit, the special part about a kimono + shorts outfit is that it totally screams “I just got out of bed and I’m sooooo glamourous.”

The kimono looks just as good with jeans/leggings/pants as it does with shorts. Major props to the girl on the far left for doing all black, a personal favorite.

kimono3

(Photos via Pinterest)

 

Finally, don’t be afraid to dress up a night look with a kimono. Pair with a dress and get ready to party!
f899994e4a4f7d9dff379014b4a35b19

(Photo via Pinterest)

 

This chick pairs her kimono with a romper, which, if you’ve read this entire article, you know I have some mad respect for her…

9729c9b7bfe6228527c5a7b201aabf3a

 

(Photo via Pinterest)

 

Basically, right now, you really can’t go wrong with a kimono.

 

Where to buy:

I’ve been searching and searching for the perfect kimono to add to my wardrobe, and here’s some cute ones that I’ve found!

Screen Shot 2014-08-20 at 3.35.46 PM

Petal to the Fleur Kimono, Tobi, $76

Screen Shot 2014-08-20 at 3.35.57 PM

Love Not Lost kimono, Tobi, $50

Screen Shot 2014-08-20 at 3.39.51 PM

Lace Paneled Kimono, Forever 21, $29.80

Screen Shot 2014-08-20 at 3.40.08 PM

Medallion Kimono Cardigan, Forever 21, $19.80

Screen Shot 2014-08-20 at 3.43.17 PM

Iris Print Kimono Jacket, Topshop for Nordstrom, $76 (a little pricey, but a girl can dream…)

For the perfect finishing touch to any look, kimonos are definitely a girl’s best friend.

 

xo, K

2 thoughts on “Kimonos are a Girl’s Best Friend

  1. Pingback: Lazy Sunday Roundup – {August 24} | A Girl's Best Friend

Leave a Reply

