Red Carpet

The Red Carpet is a Girl’s Best Friend: 2013 Academy Awards

After much anticipation, my favorite Sunday night of the year is here, and I wanna talk about it!

Early on I could tell the big trend of the night was pale colors.

oscars1

Jennifer Lawrence, Dior; Jessica Chastain, Giorgio Armani

oscars2

Lara Spencer, designer unknown; Amanda Seyfried, Alexander McQueen; Charlize Theron, Dior

So, if you were rocking more color, props to you because you were standing out among the crowd.

oscars3

My favorites include Reese Witherspoon in Louis Vuitton and Maria Menounos in Romona Keveza.

Another big trend was the glitter. Ohh the glitter gowns. I’m swooning.

oscars4

Catherine Zeta Jones, Sandra Bullock, Nicole Kidman, and Adele all channeled glamour in these dresses. Unfortunately I couldn’t find the designers for any of them (posting this so early does has it’s setbacks, the rest of the internet must catch up!). If you know, please comment below 🙂

The Awards:

Best Sleek and Simple:  Samantha Barks, designer unknown

enhanced-buzz-18510-1361748344-3

I’ve literally never heard of this girl before tonight, but I’m glad I did. I’ve been looking her up and it seems she loves her black and plunging necklines, but this is her best yet. It’s classy and perfect.

Worst Dressed: Anne Hathaway, Prada

Prada

No. Just. No.

Too nineties, her boobs just looked too pointy, and I just think considering where she’s at and what she’s nominated for she should have gone in a different, more glamorous direction.

Best Statement Necklace: Jennifer Garner, Neil Lane (Necklace)

enhanced-buzz-3175-1361753754-5

LOVE the color of this dress, not crazy about the ruffles on the back. I think it would have been better had it just been simple. However, I’m loving the jewels. Completes the look, definitely.

Best Dressed Runner Up: Amy Adams, Oscar de la Renta

enhanced-buzz-22834-1361748493-2 Oscar de la Renta

There are no words to describe how beautiful this dress is, and I think the fact that Amy Adams is wearing it made it that much more beautiful. Her and that dress definitely have a cohesive relationship.

Best Dressed: Naomi Watts, Giorgio Armani

enhanced-buzz-16144-1361751984-5

Naomi Watts, Giorgio Armani

When we watched Naomi walk onto that red carpet, my whole Oscar party fell silent and there was a collective “whoa.” It’s got a classic shape going down her body, but the asymmetric neckline really makes this dress different and will be remembered and talked about forever.

Well, I’m off to procrastinate studying and wait excitedly to find out the big winners of the night.

xo, K

Leave a Reply

