On Trend

A Fresh Face is a Girl’s Best Friend

beauty collage

We’ve all been there: we wake up, completely groggy for class, throw on some yoga pants, and hope our makeup from the night before will do the trick.

STOP RIGHT THERE!

Even if you don’t really care what you wear to class, a fresh face is the difference between looking put together and making your professor cringe when he looks your way (in a 500 person lecture, that kind of disaster is pretty impressive…). Having a fresh face for class is easy and all it involves is a quick morning routine.

1. Clean your goddamn face.

Sorry to be rude, but I don’t even have sensitive skin and I find what makes me break out and irritates my skin the most is when I don’t wipe off my make up either before bed or in the morning if I’m too lazy to the night before.

For a makeup remover I like to use Neutrogena brand, but it really doesn’t matter.

photo 1

For a nice face cleanser, I’ve found that Cetaphil works on all skin types.

photo 2

And that’s all you really need if you’re in a rush! You’ll notice a difference in your skin in a few days. Your skin will be less irritated and will look more fresh. But say you’re more of a perfectionist than that…

Optional additions to the morning routine:

Under-eye concealer

photo 2 copy 2 photo 3

Any college student knows the value of a good under-eye concealer. I use bareMinerals concealer in the summer when I’m tanner and Bobbi Brown’s corrector and concealer kit in the winter and I’m paler. There’s really no difference between the two, I just happened to be shopping at that place at that time. The point of me telling you this is that you do need two sets of concealer, foundation, etc. for the different times of the year. You don’t want to be sitting in the fluorescent lighting of a classroom and everyone can see your too-dark concealer, it really wouldn’t conceal anything then!

Oil blotting papers

photo 4

My face is more dry than oily, but I know a lot of friends that use these. Just dab at the oily places on your face and watch the shine disappear! I found these at Sephora, but you can also easily find them at drugstores.

Face moisturizer

photo 1 copy

Like I said, my face is more dry than oily, so I like to use bareMineral’s face moisturizer. Cetaphil also makes a moisturizer that I would trust to use as well.

A Little Bit of Eye Pampering…

photo 2 copy

I’ve found that sometimes when I really want to feel like I’m “glammed up” as far as class goes, just a little bit of mascara makes me feel instantly better about myself. A quick use of the eyelash curler, and you’ll be looking wide eyed and bushy tailed for class.

… and a little bit of lip pampering

photo 3 copy

This is expensive, as far as lip moisturizers go, but I love it and can’t seem to part with my Sugar lip treatment from Sephora. I mean, like many of you know, I go to the University of Wisconsin – Madison, and with dry cold temperatures, I’m willing to splurge on some quality lip moisturizer.

And finally…

Give yourself something to smell other than your gross lab partner.

There are two products I use that I am obsessed with smelling. First, I run some of L’Oreal’s Moroccan Oil product through my hair. I swear to you, it smells like toasted marshmallows. MMMMM.

photo 1 copy 2

Then, I have found a signature scent. Everyone should have a different scent, but mine is Polo 2, because I think it’s subtle and fruity. I bought the roll-on kind so I don’t overdo it.

photo 4 copy

So there you go! A simple morning routine, considering there’s a lot of other way more complicated morning routines out there. Just remember, nothing feels better when you have to wake up for class than feeling rejuvenated, and a fresh face gives you that feeling. That is why it is a girl’s best friend.

xo, K

One thought on “A Fresh Face is a Girl’s Best Friend

Leave a Reply

