From Screen to Life

“For A Good Time Call…” is a Girl’s Best Friend

I know, I know, I’m a little behind but I just saw “For A Good Time Call…” for the first time and I absolutely loved it! There’s nothing better than a good homance movie (girl version of bromance? I’m working on the proper term for this…), and in this one they had the perfect summer style.

Though right now it may seem like a while away, the warm weather will finally return and I think we should all take a leaf out of Lauren and Katie’s book. I’m talking style-wise, but I mean if you want to start your own phone sex hotline that’s a personal decision I guess.

Anyways, I personally really loved Katie’s (Ari Graynor) many jumpsuits she wore and Lauren’s (Lauren Miller) super fun sundresses. I tried to find some good photos, but surprisingly there weren’t a lot of photos to choose from, so you’ll just have to use your imagination, but here are some examples!Screen Shot 2013-01-09 at 11.28.55 PM Screen Shot 2013-01-09 at 11.28.30 PM good-time-call-ari-graynor-lauren-miller

for-a-good-time-call-1-300x225

So, here are some outfits that I created inspired by their style:

If Lauren were going to, say, a rooftop party in the summer in NYC, I would put her in Lilly Pulitzer’s Sami Ryan dress:

42641_hottypinkglammetallicstripe

If Katie were at the same rooftop party and happened to go shopping with her BFF at Lilly Pulitzer, I think she would probably choose the more comfy casual Irene dress, but add some super cool accessories like a chunky bracelet and a cute necklace.

foragoodtime1

(Bracelet and Necklace from Nordstrom)

But say they didn’t shop together (Katie was busy at work on the super cute pink phone), here is what I would put Lauren in to go traipsing around NYC during the hot summer day:

DVF “Angelica” skirt (I’m assuming I’m working with someone else’s budget here…), a plain white tank top, and Alice + Olivia’s Juliet wedges in a bright color. I chose yellow, but I know that shoe comes in a bunch of other colors. To accessorize, she should borrow her roomie’s gold necklace from Nordstrom!

foragoodtime2

While Katie’s out and about, she should stick to what she loves and what flatters her so much: jumpsuits.

I consider this my ULTIMATE girl-on-a-budget fashion ensemble, and I’m so proud of it. I found this multi-wrap jumpsuit from Target, comes in all colors (I chose the blue for katie. But since I’m gonna buy this for myself when I’m done with my post, I’ll probably pick black, in case you were wondering), and since it’s multi-wrap you can keep switching up the look. A cute pair of neutral espadrilles (on sale now at Aldo) and her necklace from Nordstrom she likes to share with Lauren, and she’s got herself a cute summer outfit!

foragoodtime3

I know right now you probably don’t want to hear about summer outfits. But it will be here before you know it! The movie, among other things, really made me excited for the warm weather, and I hope this gave you all some inspiration for what to wear when that weather is finally upon us!

xo, K

2 thoughts on ““For A Good Time Call…” is a Girl’s Best Friend

Leave a Reply

